Careers FAQ:
Questions About the Online Application System (Taleo)


Here are some common questions about our online application system (Taleo):


How is my information stored?


Our applicant tracking system tracks a candidate profile separately from each of your job applications. Each job application contains information specific to your submission for a particular job opportunity.

Your candidate profile contains details such as your name and contact information, as well as your attachments, your most recent plain-text resume, cover letter, and other such data. It also contains your indicated preferences related to job posting notifications, the type of position you’re seeking, and your preferred work location(s).

When submitting a new job application, information is automatically populated from your profile. Any changes made to these details will automatically update your candidate profile.


How do I change / update my personal information?


To update your personal information (i.e., contact, education, career preferences) you will need to log into the online system and edit the relevant information in your profile. It will automatically be changed for all positions to which you have applied. These details can also be updated when applying to a new role, or editing an existing job application.

To review and / or update your application follow these steps:

  1. Access your career section (i.e., external, internal, USW, etc.)
  2. Under Candidate Profile on the right, select Access My Profile
  3. Log in with your username and password
  4. To make modifications, select Edit next to the relevant section (e.g., personal information, preferences, education, etc.)
  5. Make the required change(s) in that section
  6. Choose Save and Continue

NB: If you delete any attachments for a position that you applied for and are being currently considered for, the hiring manager will no longer have access to these documents.


Can I delete a profile I’ve submitted?


Yes — with the exception of staff-appointed profiles.

Please contact uoft.careers@utoronto.ca to have your profile removed. Staff-appointed profiles will not be deleted by request.

However, please be aware that if you delete your application, it will be removed from any jobs for which you are being considered.


How will I know if you received my application or profile?


All completed applications are automatically acknowledged by a confirmation email, 24 to 36 hours following submission. Regrettably, we are unable to respond to inquiries regarding the individual status of applications.

Should your qualifications meet the stated requirements of the posting for which you have applied, a member of our recruiting team or hiring manager may contact you to arrange an interview. Given the volume of applications we receive, we regret that only those applicants selected for an interview will be contacted.


How do I review my application that I submitted online?


After submitting your application, you can review and make changes to it prior to the closing date.

To review and/or update your application follow these steps:

  1. Access your career section (i.e., external, internal, USW, etc.)
  2. Select My Jobpage
  3. Log in with your username and password
  4. Under the Completed Submissions section, find the job that you want to review or update
  5. Choose View Submission
  6. To make modifications, select Edit next to the relevant section (e.g., Resume and Letter, Questionnaire, Personal Information, etc.)
  7. Make the required change(s) in that section
  8. Select Save and Continue
  9. Repeat steps 6 to 8 (if necessary)
  10. Choose Submit when all changes and updates are completed
  11. You will see the University of Toronto — Job Application — Complete page. This acknowledges that revisions to your application have been submitted and received.

What kind of files can I attach to my candidate record?


You can attach a copy of your resume if you wish to submit it along with your candidate record. We recommend that you attach only a generic resume as these attached files follow you on each application. If you prefer to tailor your resume for each application, you should copy and paste your resume into the text box provided.

You may attach a cover letter in PDF format or copy and paste it into the text box provided.

If the position asks you to submit references and other materials, you can submit these documents with your application. (NB: The search tool that recruiters use to search for candidates will not be able to analyze the content of some attached files — mostly image and zip compressed files.)

Once you attach a file, you are unable to go back and edit the document, though you can remove it and upload a revised version.

Please be cautious when removing attachments, as they may be associated with active submissions. Removing and re-uploading a file will not automatically attach it to the job submissions the prior file was associated with.

You may upload a maximum of 15 attachments to your Taleo profile.


What if I want to submit tailored resumes for each job application?


For each application, you may cut and paste your resume into the resume box provided. If you are copying and pasting from an MS Word document, you may lose your formatting.

If you choose to attach your specific resume, please save your attachment beginning with the naming convention of: FirstInitial LastName – Posting Number (i.e., J Doe – 0600083).

If you have more than one resume attached, please specify the resume that you would like the recruiter and hiring manager to review in the Comments About the File section.

All attached files will be connected to future applications.


Can I delete my resume(s)?


You can delete some or all of the files.

However, if you delete a resume for a position that you applied for and are currently being considered for, the hiring manager and recruiter will no longer have access to it.